Ethical and ethnic fashion and decoration

Giving Burmese women a future and promoting local know-how

YounSone was created in 2019 to offer training and jobs to disadvantaged young women while promoting traditional know-how. YounSone means "colorful" in the Burmese language and expresses the rich diversity of cultures, religions, ethnicities and traditions of Myanmar.

 

Our products are made from Longyi, the traditional skirt worn by women and men from Myanmar. Each Longyi is hand woven with unique patterns and colors. YounSone transforms them into contemporary objects for everyday use that enhance these traditional patterns.

We are convinced that there is a strong potential for transformation of these ancestral activities. They offer a future for young Burmese women and a sustainable, eco-responsible and exciting prospect for the rural community.

 

With YounSone we share our passion and Burmese culture in the world.

 

Our products

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-08 at 05.54.05.jp
be9ae109-cd70-4be8-84b3-e2b279668fbe.JPG
IMG_0457 2.JPG
20190826_193007.jpg

Provide jobs for disable Burmese women

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-08 at 05.54.05.jp

Create modern objects inspired by Burmese traditions

Maintain and develop the unique know-how of Burmese crafts

YounSone was born from the observation that it is not enough to give training to disadvantaged young people but that it is important to allow them access to employment.

Women in Myanmar have even fewer opportunities for education and employment. They are further marginalized. Many of them migrate illegally to work and hold dangerous jobs or become victims of human trafficking.

YounSone trains them and provides them with stable and lasting employment. Some join the team full time and may develop new skills. Others work from home and can care for their families while having a fixed income and avoiding long and costly transportation.

YounSone seeks to preserve the Burmese tradition and culture by transforming traditional fabrics into contemporary clothing and decorative items. We value the cultural heritage and bring it up to date. This strengthens the pride of women from these provinces and increases their self-confidence.

All parts of Myanmar have an impressive heritage of traditional clothing. We wanted to use this cultural richness and enhance it in our products. Each motif found on the longyis comes from the different emblems of the 8 Burmese tribes: Kachin, Kayar, Karen, Chin, Mon, Bamar, Rahkine and Shan.

Most of the fabrics are woven and embroidered by hand. In each village, there are men and women who still master this skill. Young people tend to abandon these activities which are not necessarily valued by the modern world.

We buy our fabrics from women in poor villages or in refugee camps (many people have been displaced by civil wars in the north of the country). We strive to pay a fair price. We are keen to preserve local practices, such as natural dyes.

What we do

How to help?

Donate

In response to the global Covid-19 crisis, we started fundraising on helloasso. This collection aims to allow the survival of YounSone despite the closure of all stores and the cessation of all activities related to tourism. We need your support to continue to provide a future for young women in Myanmar and hope that our project can withstand this crisis.

Donation collection link:

https://www.helloasso.com/associations/fondacio/collectes/youn-sone

Become a volunteer

You want to help us but you don't know where to start?

Volunteering is an effective way to support our cause. Every action counts for the construction of a better world.

Do you want to immerse yourself for a few months in Myanmar and bring your skills to the team?

Would you like to help us sell the items in France?

Contact us today to help us and contribute to the YounSone adventure.

Become a partner

Our products are successfully distributed in Yangon by HlaDay , a leading Fair Trade store. Inle Heritage also offers them to the many tourists who come to discover this region of Inle.

We are looking for distributors in France and in Europe to publicize the project and the products as well as to ensure regular income.

You can also organize exceptional sales at home or at an event.


Do not hesitate to contact us to receive more information and a complete catalog.

Mode et décoration éthique et ethnique

Donner un avenir aux femmes birmanes et valoriser le savoir-faire local

YounSone a été créée en 2019 pour offrir des formations et des emplois aux jeunes femmes défavorisées tout en valorisant le savoir-faire traditionnel. YounSone signifie "coloré" en langue birmane et exprime la riche diversité des cultures, des religions, des ethnies et des traditions du Myanmar.

 

Nos produits sont faits à partir de Longyi, la jupe traditionnelle portée par les femmes et les hommes du Myanmar. Chaque Longyi est tissé à la main avec des motifs et des couleurs uniques. YounSone les transforme en objets contemporains à usage quotidien qui valorisent ces motifs traditionnels.

Nous sommes persuadés qu’il existe un fort potentiel de transformation de ces activités ancestrales. Elles permettent d’offrir un avenir aux jeunes birmanes et une perspective durable, éco-responsable et passionnante pour la communauté rurale.

 

Avec YounSone nous partageons notre passion et la culture birmane dans le monde.

 

Nos produits

20190826_193007.jpg

Créer des emplois pour des femmes birmanes défavorisées

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-08 at 05.54.05.jp

Créer des objets modernes s’inspirant des traditions birmanes

Maintenir et développer le savoir-faire unique de l'artisanat birman

YounSone est né du constat qu’il ne suffit pas de donner une formation aux jeunes défavorisés mais qu’il est important de leur permettre l’accès à l’emploi. 

Au Myanmar les femmes ont encore moins de possibilités d'éducation et d'emploi. Elles sont davantage marginalisées. Nombre d'entre elles émigrent illégalement pour travailler et occuper des emplois dangereux ou deviennent victimes de trafic humain.

 

YounSone les forme et leur fournit un emploi stable et durable. Certaines intègrent l’équipe à temps plein et peuvent développer des compétences nouvelles. D’autres travaillent depuis leur domicile et peuvent s’occuper de leur famille tout en ayant un revenu fixe et éviter des transports longs et coûteux.

YounSone cherche à conserver la tradition et la culture birmane en transformant les tissus traditionnels en vêtements et objets de décoration contemporains. Nous valorisons le patrimoine culturel et le mettons au goût du jour. Cela renforce la fierté des femmes issues de ces provinces et augmente leur confiance en elle. 

 

Toutes les régions du Myanmar ont un héritage impressionnant de vêtements traditionnels. Nous avons voulu utiliser cette richesse culturelle et la revaloriser dans nos produits. Chaque motif retrouvé sur les longyis provient des différents emblèmes des 8 tribus birmanes : Kachin, Kayar, Karen, Chin, Mon, Bamar, Rahkine et Shan.

La plupart des tissus sont tissés et brodés à la main. Dans chaque village, il y a des hommes et des femmes qui maîtrisent encore ce savoir-faire. Les jeunes ont tendance à délaisser ces activités qui ne sont pas forcément valorisées par le monde moderne. 

 

Nous achetons nos tissus auprès des femmes dans des villages pauvres ou dans des camps de réfugiés (beaucoup de personnes ont été déplacées suite à des guerres civiles au nord du pays). Nous nous efforçons de payer un prix juste. Nous tenons à préserver les pratiques locales, comme les teintures naturelles.

Ce que nous faisons

Comment aider ?

Faites un don

En réponse à la crise mondiale du Covid-19, nous avons démarré une collecte de fond sur helloasso. Cette collecte a pour but de permettre la survie de YounSone malgré la fermeture de tous les magasins et l’arrêt de toutes activités liées au tourisme. Nous avons besoin de votre soutien pour continuer à offrir un avenir aux jeunes femmes du Myanmar et espérer que notre projet résiste à cette crise.

Lien de la collecte de don :

https://www.helloasso.com/associations/fondacio/collectes/youn-sone

Devenez bénévole

Vous voulez nous aider mais vous ne savez pas par où commencer ?

 

Devenir bénévole est un moyen efficace de soutenir notre cause. Chaque geste compte pour la construction d'un monde meilleur. 

 

Vous souhaitez vous immerger pendant quelques mois au Myanmar et apporter vos compétences à l’équipe ? 

Vous souhaitez nous aider à vendre les articles en France ?  

 

Contactez-nous dès aujourd'hui pour nous aider et contribuer à l'aventure YounSone.

Devenez partenaire

Nos produits sont distribués avec succès à Yangon par HlaDay, magasin Fair Trade de premier plan. Inle Heritage, les propose également aux nombreux touristes qui viennent découvrir cette région de Inle. 

 

Nous cherchons des distributeurs en France et en Europe pour faire connaître le projet et les produits ainsi qu'assurer des revenus réguliers. 

 

Vous pouvez aussi organiser des ventes exceptionnelles chez vous ou lors d’un événement. 


N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour recevoir plus d’informations et un catalogue complet.

©2020 par Younsone. Créé avec Wix.com